Street Style Wrap Up: Emirates Melbourne Cup Day

The forecast may have been gloomy, but the street style certainly wasn't.

An iconic day in the Australian sporting calendar, Emirates Melbourne Cup Day is also a highly anticipated style extravaganza.

It’s the day when race-goers pull out all the stops, and this year proved no different, with show stopping outfits from both the ladies and gents.

This seasons hot ticket was block colour, the primary colours making their statement. Red was the colour of the day, a risky but bold choice that caught the attention of many an eye.

Now listen up gents,

“For the love of god get your suit tailored!”

Wise words from local fashion designer Oscar Calvo.

As hilarious as she is gorgeous, beauty blogger Gemma Watts addressed all the ladies out there with commitment issues,

“You make a commitment to your shoes at the start of the day. Everyone that takes their shoes off is a bad person. To their shoes.”

It’s the race that stops the nation, but here are the outfits that brought us to a halt:

Joey Scandizzo @joeyscandizzo

Beth Levis @beth.levis

Nadia Bartel @nadiabartel

Shaun Birley @shaunbirley

Tess Shanahan @tessshanahan, on Melbourne Cup faux pas:

“No bra should be showing and no underwear should be visible.”


Chloe Maggs @chloemaggs

Sam Harris @sam_harris

Bec + Marissa Karagiorgos @twiceblessed

Dom & Nunzio Bagnato @dombagnato

Elliot Garnaut @elliotgarnaut & Dalton Graham @daltgraham

Matt Wilson @mattywilson, dressed head-to-toe in Louis Vuitton:

“Everyone has played it very safe this year, so I’m really appreciating anyone that has taken a risk – it’s Melbourne Cup people!”

Correy ‘Homocide’ Williams

Tarrah Burns @tarrahalexandria

Rebecca Harding @rebeccaharding

Elliot Garnaut @elliotgarnaut

Roberto Malizia, Justin Monaco and Sam Wines @justinmonaco @samwines

Jane Scandizzo @janescandizzo

Georgia Dunlop
A Sydneysider turned Melbournian, Georgia is a long time food enthusiast, wanderluster, whisky lover and piccolo drinker. As a Fashion and Textile Design graduate, Georgia values most a killer outfit, a beautiful space, delicious seasonal food and great company.